Just lift a finger

Notes_by_william_choukeir_dsc0717

I care about my sister. I truly do. Do I care about her more than she cares for herself? I doubt that.

She’s in school. She hates schooling. She wants to go into acting. Yet she’s not doing anything about it. She doesn’t study, and she doesn’t do anything that gets her closer to acting. 

I tell her a story I’ve read somewhere. Possibly told by Ken Robinson in the Element. There’s this girl living with her poor mother. The girl sees a picture of a university and falls in love. She tells her mom: “I want to go there.” the mom buys 2 tickets and takes her daughter to visit the university. The girl falls in love even more.

Mother and daughter work very hard to get a scholarship. And they do. The poor girl goes to a university she never would’ve dreamed of being in.

The difference between my sister and the girl is that the girl did something about it. She picked a university. She told her mom. 

I’m ready and happy to help my sister. I care about her. Yet the person that cares most about my sister (herself) isn’t doing anything about the situation. So why would the people that care less than her, lift a finger?

I’m trying to inspire her to lift a finger, so that I would.

You’re probably the person that cares most about yourself. If you’re not doing anything to change your situation, please don’t expect someone else to do it for you. It’ll be a miracle you’re waiting for. And miracles are the rarest.

Just lift a finger. Those who care will do the same.

Yours,
Will

Twitter @williamchoukeir

Related Will you take the shortcut or this magic formula?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just lift a finger

  1. Ali says:

    I have the exact same experience with my younger brother. I understand your feelings šŸ™‚

  2. Anonymous says:

    Thank you Ali. Let me know if something changes from your side that’ll help me from mine šŸ™‚ After reading the note, my sister went and found a school in the UK that she’d like to go to. Great 1st step! šŸ™‚

  3. Eddy says:

    my brother is having this problem with me šŸ™‚ thank you for this note

  4. Anonymous says:

    "my brother is having this problem with me šŸ™‚ thank you for this note" ???Thank you Eddy for sharing.

Leave a Reply

